Is this how it feels to be depressed?

I have never been diagnosed with depression, but there is definitely something up with me. It’s gotten so much worse recently. I wish I would explain it.

Everything is shit today, and with no good reason. I almost wish something terrible would happen so I would have an excuse for moping around.

I had been feeling shitty for ages but decided to turn my life around, and things are finally looking hopeful. I thought this would be the end of the days spent crying in bed.

But when I woke up today I just knew it wasn’t going to be a good day. All I felt was sad and fat. The only escape being a quick snooze every few hours.

A friend invited me to go out for drinks tonight but I declined. She then asked if I’d rather get a chinese and sit in. I don’t know why, but I still didn’t want to and said no. Even though I really miss her and want to see her. It doesn’t make sense. I’m scared I will lose everyone I care about if I continue on this way but I just don’t feel like talking to anyone.

At 9 o’ clock this evening, I finally got out of bed and went for a shower. Whilst in the shower, I couldn’t get the temperature right. (our shower works fine). I couldn’t even stand in the cold and when I changed it to one setting warmer it scalded me so much I cried. There was a brief moment of relief during the transition from cold to hot, just tempting me as to what it should feel like.
At the minute this is how I feel about my life. I can’t strike a balance. It’s all or fucking nothing and I just feel like shit. Today I can’t even find the brief moment of relief. I just want to be numb. 

I thought getting dressed and going for a walk might help. But I looked so fat and physically disgusting in any outfit I tried on. I look at my stomach purging over my tracksuit bottoms. Surely I wasn’t this fat yesterday? I don’t think so. Maybe my perception is out of whack? Or am I just saying that to look for an excuse? 

I’m gonna go for the walk anyway. I can’t sit here crying any longer.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About ainmnom

The less you know, the better.

2 responses to “Is this how it feels to be depressed?”

  1. hawkinssa says :

    Depression is a difficult one. I also haven’t been diagnosed by I am pretty sure I have some depression based mind. Based on the self-harm I am sure to have something causing the mind to work that way. I have stopped calling it something wrong, it’s another perspective that simply needs readjusting. Depression can happen at any time and even gets triggered without thinking negatively. It makes everything feel stiff and pointless, feeling stuck you end in this circle, wanting to escape but you can’t see why. The only real help despite pills and medicine is to have someone to talk to.

  2. thenarcissistwrites says :

    I think what you’re talking about is depression, and that I suppose is the first step to trying to get over it, is recognizing it. You can do this.

Leave a comment